Diverse

It happened a few weeks back when I was on a trip, in relation to my work, to this North Indian state of Chandigarh which is where I got introduced to the diversity in and around me.

I basically belong to the city of Mumbai, a place known for its humid weather. So when I got off at the airport of Chandigarh, I received rather a cold welcome from the blowing winds. It calmed my soul, to an extent. (You can imagine the relief I felt, if only you have experienced living in my mother city, and bare you, it is summer!)

This is difference number 1.

Number 2, food. (Because I love eating!!!)

Living in a metro, I am well aware of the various kind of cuisines that are available in the world, but as the say, the authenticity of the dish is tasted only in the place from where it belongs. And so I did. Such a difference! Oh my God! I just couldn’t stop licking my fingers. (Using a spoon is, my friend, a sin)

People, yes, that’s my number 3.

Not so warm, but not so cold either. Let’s just leave it to the fact that I had a few experiences in support of my statement. The city sleeps too early. At 11 in the night it is difficult to find a place to fill you tummies. Mumbai, on the other hand, probably wakes up at 11. However, one thing is for sure, the population in Chandigarh is less than half of that of Mumbai.

Last but not the least, architecture, the planning and it’s execution.

I wouldn’t lie, I have been to a few placing in and around the country but I was impressed by the way in which someone actually put in so much effect to build a city, so well balanced and beautiful. Everything in Chandigarh is so well organised, the houses, the offices, the roads, the gardens too. I can only sigh in excitement. So dense, yet so sparse, the work of an ingenious mind.

 


Note: Well, this is not to offend the citizens from Mumbai, I love my mother city but I am humble enough to appreciate the beauty and hard work put into the construction of this wonderful city.


 

Now coming to the point,

Each and every grain of soil is different from the other. All we see today is the bigger picture and we forget that it is these various small pictures that make up the big one.

Our world has always been diverse, since the big bang itself and we are all a part of this amazing diversity.

Diverse

Leave a Reply

